Worldcup updates: Sweden 1-0 Korea Republic: Granqvist converts VAR penalty to stun wasteful Asian Tigers

Sweden win their opening game at a World Cup for the first time since 1958. They move level at the top of Group F with Mexico thanks to Granqvist’s second-half penalty, which was awarded after the use of VAR!

2018 World Cup


Match Events

12′ Yellow Card! Kim Shin-Wook booked

20′ Marcus Berg effort incredibly saved by Korea keeper

44′ CLOSE! Claesson’s header over the bar

65′ Penalty Goal! Sweden 1-0 South Korea (A. Granqvist)

Goal! Andreas Granqvist gives Sweden 1-0 lead!

The captain steps up and sends the goalkeeper the wrong way, sliding the ball into the bottom right corner of the net.

Match reports

Andreas Granqvist’s VAR-assisted penalty handed Sweden a deserved 1-0 World Cup win over South Korea at the Nizhny Novgorod Stadium on Monday.

The win takes Janne Andersson’s side joint top in Group F with Mexico after their shock win over reigning champions Germany.

The European side were dominant throughout and were twice denied by goalkeeper Cho Hyun-woo before another dramatic intervention by VAR shortly after the hour.

Substitute Kim Min-woo appeared to have hacked down Viktor Claesson, and, after initially waving away furious appeals from Swedish players, referee Joel Aguilar consulted VAR and eventually pointed to the spot.

South Korea were disappointing throughout, with star man Son Heung-min unable to demonstrate any of the threat that has made him a firm favourite with Tottenham fans in recent seasons.

Sweden now have the chance to all but knock Germany out of the tournament on Saturday, while South Korea face Mexico desperately needing a win to maintain their hopes of qualifying for the knock-out stages.


Sweden XI: Andreas Granqvist, Marcus Berg, Ola Toivonen, Sebastian Larsson, Albin Ekdal, Mikael Lustig, Emil Forsberg, Pontus Jansson, Robin Olsen, Viktor Claesson, Ludwig Augustinsson

Subs: Martin Olsson, Gustav Svensson, Jimmy Durmaz, Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Karl-Johan Johnsson, John Guidetti, Oscar Hiljemark, Emil Krafth, Isaac Thelin, Filip Helander, Marcus Rohdén

Korea Republic XI: Ki Sung-yueng, Park Joo-Ho, Kim Shin-Wook, Kim Young-Gwon, Koo Ja-Cheol, Son Heung-Min, Lee Yong, Hyun-Soo Jang, Cho Hyun-Woo, Lee Jae-Sung, Hwang Hee-Chan

Subs: Ko Yo-Han, Kim Seung-gyu, Kim Jin-hyeon, Kim Min-Woo, Yun Young-Sun, Hong Chul, Oh Ban-Suk, Jung Woo-Young, Moon Seon-Min, Ju Se-Jong, Jung Seung-Hyun, Lee Seung-Woo

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.