Mile Jedinak scored his second penalty of the World Cup to pull Australia level after Christian Eriksen’s superb opener for Denmark.

2018 World Cup


Match Events

0′ Players are singing their national anthems

7′ GOAL! Denmark 1-0 Australia (C. Eriksen)

Goal!  Denmark 1, Australia 0. Christian Eriksen (Denmark) left footed shot from the centre of the box to the top left corner. Assisted by Nicolai Jørgensen.

25′ Sisto’s long shot is saved by Ryan

38′ Penalty Goal! Denmark 1-1 Australia (M. Jedinak)

Goal!  Denmark 1, Australia 1. Mile Jedinak (Australia) converts the penalty with a right footed shot to the bottom right corner.

41′ Sainsbury almost scores an own goal!

51′ Poulsen fouled in the box but referee signals advantage to Denmark

68′ Dalsgaard makes a vital clearance as Australia come close

71′ Mooy’s long range effort is just over the bar!

73′ Nabbout dislocates his shoulder and has come off


Mile Jedinak’s second penalty of the World Cup earned Australia a precious 1-1 draw against Denmark after a controversial VAR decision led to Christian Eriksen’s superb opener being cancelled out in Samara.

Denmark winger Yussuf Poulsen conceded his second penalty in as many games when video replays led to a decision of handball against him and Jedinak buried the ensuing spot-kick to earn Australia their first point of the tournament.

Bert van Marwijk’s side had to grind out a draw against a Denmark side who showed flashes of brilliance, none better than Christian Eriksen’s seventh-minute opener.

The Tottenham playmaker defied Denmark’s reputation as a goal-shy outfit, applying a wonderfully crisp finish to a swift passing move that was reminiscent of the great Danish side of the 1980s.

But Poulsen’s apparent handball means he will miss Denmark’s final Group C game against France, having picked up two yellow cards in two games, and Age Hareide’s men need a point from that game to make sure of their place in the knockout stage.


Denmark XI: Kasper Schmeichel, Simon Kjaer, Lasse Schöne, Henrik Dalsgaard, Thomas Delaney, Jens Stryger Larsen, Nicolai Jørgensen, Christian Eriksen, Yussuf Poulsen, Andreas Christensen, Pione Sisto

Subs: Michael Krohn-Dehli, Zanka, Jonas Lössl, Martin Braithwaite, Jonas Knudsen, Jannik Vestergaard, Viktor Fischer, Frederik Ronnow, Lukas Lerager, Andreas Cornelius, Kasper Dolberg

Australia XI: Mark Milligan, Mile Jedinak, Robbie Kruse, Aziz Behich, Mathew Leckie, Aaron Mooy, Mat Ryan, Trent Sainsbury, Josh Risdon, Tomas Rogic, Andrew Nabbout

Subs: Tim Cahill, Brad Jones, James Meredith, Danny Vukovic, Matthew Jurman, Dimitri Petratos, Milos Degenek, Tomi Juric, Massimo Luongo, Jackson Irvine, Jamie Maclaren, D. Arzani


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here