3,000 APC members defect to PDP in Edo

The leadership of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Edo State on Sunday received defectors from the All Progressives Congress (APC) at Fugar, the headquarters of Etsako Central Local Government Area.

The charged atmosphere had defectors from virtually all the wards in the council.

At the event, the Edo PDP Chairman, Chief Dan Osi Orbih, said that it was the PDP that drew the attention of the world to the dilapidated state of Aruosa Primary School and queried the motive behind the relocation of the children to the nearby Agbado Primary School which facility is overstretched without chairs and tables.

Orbih said that Governor Godwin Obaseki’s actions only scratched the surface of the issue rather than provide a lasting solution.

“We would have closed down the school long ago, send the children to other well-equipped schools and begin renovation work on the affected Aruosa Primary school immediately,” he declared.

Orbih also criticised the inclusion of Edo as one of the states earmarked for the pilot phase of President Muhammadu Buhari’s Cattle Colony Plan under the guise of ranches.

“Till now we are still waiting for Obaseki’s position on the issue of Cattle Colonies in Edo State. I have travelled the length and breadth of Edo State and discovered that no community is willing to surrender its lands to Fulani herdsmen who have continuously wreaked havoc by killing people and raping our women,” he added.

“While others are having their convention at Abuja, the real owners of the APC at the grassroots are moving out of the party in Fugar. The way out of our present predicament is to support PDP to rescue Nigeria, APC stands for oppression, hunger and dictatorship while PDP stands for true democracy,” Ordih said.

He welcomed the decampees to the PDP and stressed the needs for all hands to be on deck to rescue Nigeria.

Among those who defected to the APC are Capt. Philip Sede (rtd), former member of the Edo House of Assembly (EDHA) Civil Service Commission and APC chieftain, Mr.. Mike Imakhu, former APC Legal Adviser of Etsako Central Local Government Area, Hon. Benji Enakpele, former Executive Secretary of Etsako Central Local Government Area and the immediate past APC Youth Leader, Hon. Felix Okauso, former Supervisory Councillor (Special Duty), Comrade Illemuma Patrick, former APC Leader Ward 4, Comrade Anomhe Augustine, APC Ward Leader, Hon Isah Michael Aleakhue, former APC Leader Ward 6, Alhaji Ogwanighie from Ward 3 and Roland Oputteh (Ward 4).

The PDP leaders who attended the event were Dr. Tony Aziegbemi, Chief Okafi Erewele, Hon. Stephen Aifoga, former PDP Treasurer, Dr. Blessing Agbomhere, Alhaji Ozeto, Hon. Paschal Ugbome, Hon. Sylvester Eruaga, member of EDHA, Hajia Hadizat Umoru, National Deputy Woman Leader, Hon. Augustine Omogbai, Hon. Emmanuel Momoh, former House of Representatives member, Hon. Johnson Abolagba, Hon. Donald Osikhena, Mr. Chris Nehikhare, Hon. Aidudo Joseph, and members of the State Working Committee (SWC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here